FAAN Mail: Academy & Fellow Newsletter

FAAN Mail: Academy & Fellow News is the Academy's e-newsletter. FAAN Mail is sent to all of the Academy's Fellows on the 15th and last day of every month.

If you have anything to share, please see our posting and submission guidelines.

Print Email
July 15, 2014
Vote in Leadership Election
If you haven't already, cast your vote in the 2014 Academy Leadership Elections. Current fellows have through Friday, August 15, to submit their electronic ballot. Honorary fellows and new fellow inductees are not eligible to vote. Review the candidates and vote.
The Academy joined the Nursing Community to support S. 2154/ H.R. 4290, to reauthorize the Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) Program. The legislation would fund the EMSC program for FY2015–2019. This is the only federal program that focuses specifically on improving the pediatric components of the emergency medical services system.

Building on last year's National Defense Authorization Act to address sexual assault within the military by establishing appropriate training requirements for personnel performing sexual assault examinations, Sen. Boxer will introduce a bill that requires each military branch to ensure a 40-hour didactic standard for SANE training. The Academy joined the International Association of Forensic Nurses to send a letter to Sen. Boxer in support of this legislation.
Have You Ever Served in the Military?
NEW LAW. Connecticut passed a new requirement for hospitals in its state to ask all patients if they are military veterans. The Academy is working to emulate this law in other states.

FELLOW OP-ED. Rose Constantino, PhD, JD, RN, FAAN, expressed her concerns about veteran care in the Pittsburg Post-Gazette and urged private sector clinicians to ask, "Have you ever served in the military?"

PACKETS SHIPPED. Last month, the Academy shipped informational packets to 1,400 Federally Qualified Health Centers and 500 mental health clinics nationwide. This is the initiative's largest rollout to date.

PERSONAL STORIES. Narrative Inquiry in Bioethics will publish a collection of personal stories from war veterans (combat and non-combat) about meeting their health care needs. Veterans’ stories may address a variety of health care needs, and a variety of health care settings. Contact the Academy for more information. Deadline is August 30.
Upcoming Conferences
American Academy of Nursing's Policy Conference Council for the Advancement of Nursing Science's
Research Conference
October 16–18, 2014
Grand Hyatt Washington
September 18–20, 2014
The Washington Hilton
Accepting Nominations for the 2014 Media Award
The Academy is accepting nominations for outstanding works of journalism in health and healthcare with accurate and appropriate inclusion of nurses’ contributions or perspectives.

If you know of such journalist, please nominate or encourage them to enter. Nominations are due August 31, 2014. See award site for more details.
Nursing Ethics for the 21st Century:
A Blueprint for Action
The Academy is a strategic partner with the Johns Hopkins Berman Institute of Bioethics and School of Nursing for the National Nursing Ethics Summit in August 2014. The invitational event, Nursing Ethics for the 21st Century: A Blueprint for Action, will bring together prominent nurse ethicists, professional nursing organizations and key stakeholders. Together, they will help define the priorities and components of a call to action and strategic agenda for nursing ethics for the United States.
Facebook LogoTwitterLogoLinkedInLogoGooglePlus
Fellow Appointments
Jackie Rowles, MBA, CRNA, ANP-BC, FAAPM, FAAN, was elected as president of the International Federation of Nurse Anesthetists.

Kerri D. Schuiling, PhD, CNM, FACNM, FAAN recently began her position as the new dean of the College of Health Science and Professional Studies at Northern Michigan University in Marquette, MI. She is the first nurse to hold this position at the university.

Ann Scanlon McGinity, PhD, RN, FAAN, recently became chief operating officer of Houston Methodist Global Services.

Karen McQuillan, RN, MS, CNS-BC, CCRN, CNRN, FAAN, was elected president-elect of the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses.

AnnMarie Papa, DNP, RN, CEN, NE-BC, FAEN, FAAN, was appointed VP and CNO at Einstein Medical Center Montgomery.

Carole Kenner, PhD, RN, FAAN, was named dean of the School of Nursing, Health, and Exercise Science at the College of New Jersey.

Bernadette Melnyk, PhD, RN, CPNP/PMHNP, FAANP, FNAP, FAAN, was appointed to the National Quality Forum’s Behavioral Health Standing Committee.

Brenda Marion Nevidjon, RN, MSN, FAAN, was named CEO of the Oncology Nursing Society.
Thank You June Supporters!
The Academy would like to thank the following for their recent contributions to theRheba de Tornyay Development Fund:
  • Nancy & James Artinian
  • Susan Boehm
  • Dorothy Brundage
  • Ann Cain
  • Mary Chesney
  • Barbara Durand
  • Barbara Habermann
  • Sharon Horner
  • Mary Kamienski
  • Kathleen Malloch
  • DeAnne Messias
  • Todd Monroe
  • Joan Stout
  • Ana Valadez
  • Zane Wolf

By making a gift of $1,000 or greater, the Academy would like to welcome the following to the 2014 President's Circle:

  • Jane Barnsteiner
  • Bobbie Berkowitz
  • Ruth Lubic
  • Angela McBride
  • Jeanne Novotny
  • Sharon Pappas
  • Shirley Smoyak
  • Eileen Sporing
  • Eileen Sullivan-Marx
  • Debra Toney
Support your Academy by Making a Gift Today
Career Opportunities
See new opportunities on the Academy jobs site.
Advertise your employment opportunities or special announcements in FAAN Mail
Schools of Nursing Celebrate Centennials
As reported in last issue of FAAN Mail, both the Ohio State University and Indiana University Schools of Nursing are celebrating their centennials this year. As part of their celebrations, they are recognizing 100 outstanding alumni. There were so many fellows recognized that we unintentionally left out some fellows.

From Indiana University:
Rose Mays, PhD, RN, FAAN

From Ohio State:
Jeri A. Milstead, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN
Nursing Outlook iPad app now available!

New FREE benefit to fellows and subscribers.

Download today!
Awards & Recognition
Nancy O. DeBasio, PhD, RN, FAAN, received the Distinguished Graduate Award from the Wagner College Alumni Association.

Gwen Sherwood, PhD, RN, FAAN was the inaugural Barbara Dunderdale Day Distinguished Lecturer at the Massachusetts’s General Hospital.

Debi Boyle, RN, MSN, AOCNS, FAAN, was chosen as the Advanced Oncology Certified Nurse of the Year from the Oncology Certification Corporation/Oncology Nursing Society.
ANA 2014 National Awards
Robert V. Piemonte, EdD, RN, CAE, FAAN, was inducted into the ANA Hall of Fame, which recognizes a lifelong commitment to nursing and the nurses’ impact on the health or social history of the United States.

Michael L. Evans, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, received the Luther Christman Award for contributions that an individual man in nursing has made to the profession of nursing.

Rebecca M. Patton, MSN, RN, CNOR, FAAN, received the Distinguished Membership Award for outstanding leadership and participation in and contributions to the purposes of the ANA.
NLN Names 2014 Academy of Nursing Education Fellows
  • Janet Fulton, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, FAAN
  • Gwen Sherwood, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • Maria Shirey, PhD, MBA, RN, NEA-BC, FACHE, FAAN
  • Roberta Waite, EdD, CNS-BC, FAAN
  • Helen Connors, PhD, RN, FAAN
Have news to share?
Let us know
In Memoriam
Diane O. McGivern, PhD, RN, FAAN, a longtime leader at NYU College Nursing, died a few weeks ago after a long illness. Please read a letter from Eileen Sullivan-Marx, the current dean of NYUCN, on Dr. McGivern's influence.

American Academy of Nursing
Washington, DC
news@aannet.org | www.AANnet.org | 202-777-1170

More Articles...
<< first < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > last >>

Page 6 of 62