FAAN Mail: Academy & Fellow Newsletter

FAAN Mail: Academy & Fellow News is the Academy's e-newsletter. FAAN Mail is sent to all of the Academy's Fellows on the 15th and last day of every month.

If you have anything to share, please see our posting and submission guidelines.

Print Email
January 31, 2014

Time is running out!

2014 Dues Renewal. Renew your fellowship dues today!

If you haven't paid already, please renew by February 1 to avoid a late fee. Renew Today

Bylaws Result

With support from 93% of the fellowship, the 2013 bylaws amendment passed. The Academy no longer differentiates fellows based on where they live in the world, and the Academy added a few specialized committees that will help the Academy enhance its work and more fully tap the expertise of our fellows.

Policy Update

The Academy is pleased to join the Nursing Community in co-signing a letter to members of Congress urging that they not sign a "Dear Colleague" letter, circulated by Representatives Michael Grimm (R-NY) and Ann Kirkpatrick (D-AZ), which opposes the Veterans Health Administration’s Nursing Handbook modifications that would allow APRNs to serve as full practice providers. The Academy had previously co-signed a letter to US Veterans Affairs Secretary Eric Shinseki supporting the modifications.

The Distinguished Institute of Medicine (IOM) Nurse Scholar-in-Residence program provides a year-long residential leadership opportunity in health policy in Washington, DC. Apply Today

2014 Fellowship Applications

Applications for 2014 fellowship are being accepted now through February 12. Please carefully review the materials for qualification and submission instructions. Review the application

Fellow Achievements

2013 Book of the Year Awards

American Journal of Nursing announced their 2013 Book of the Year Awards. Works from many fellows were named in the top three places in many categories. See the full list on the AJN site. Listed below are the fellows that were named in order they appear on the AJN list and under the award category.

Advanced Practice Nursing

  • Outcome Assessment in Advanced Practice Nursing, edited by Ruth M. Kleinpell, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • Holistic Nursing: A Handbook for Practice by Barbara Montgomery Dossey, PhD, RN, AHN-BC, FAAN, and Lynn Keegan, PhD, RN, AHN-BC, FAAN

Community–Public Health

  • Disaster Nursing and Emergency Preparedness for Chemical, Biological, and Radiological Terrorism and Other Hazards Edited by Tener Goodwin Veenema, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN
  • Sex Trafficking: A Clinical Guide for Nurses edited by Mary De Chesnay, DSN, APRN-BC, FAAN

Critical Care–Emergency Nursing

  • Critical Care Nursing: Diagnosis and Management by Linda D. Urden, DNSc, RN, CNS, NE-BC, FAAN; Kathleen M. Stacy, PhD, RN, CNS, CCRN, PCCN, CCNS; and Mary E. Lough, PhD, RN, CNS, CCRN, CNRN, CCNS

History and Public Policy

  • Exploring Rituals in Nursing: Joining Art and Science by Zane Robinson Wolf, PhD, RN, FAAN

Information Technology/ Informatics

  • Health Informatics: An Interprofessional Approach by Ramona Nelson, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN, and Nancy Staggers, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • Simulation Scenarios for Nursing Educators: Making It Real by Suzanne Hetzel Campbell, PhD, RN, IBCLC, and Karen M. Daley, PhD, RN, FAAN



Maternal–Child Nursing/ Childbirthing

  • Perinatal Nursing edited by Kathleen Rice Simpson, PhD, RNC, FAAN, and Patricia A. Creehan, MSN, RNC, RN
  • Best Practices in Midwifery: Using the Evidence to Implement Change edited by Barbara A. Anderson, DrPH, RN, CNM, FAAN, and Susan E. Stone, DNSc, APRN, CNM, FAAN, FACNM

Medical–Surgical Nursing

  • Mosby’s Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions edited by Marie T. O’Toole, EdD, RN, FAAN

Nursing Education/ Continuing Education

  • Teaching Evidence-Based Practice in Nursing edited by Rona F. Levin, PhD, RN, and Harriet R. Feldman, PhD, RN, FAAN
  • Simulation in Nursing Education: From Conceptualization to Evaluation edited by Pamela R. Jeffries, DNS, RN, FAAN, ANEF

Nursing Research

  • Essentials of Nursing Research: Appraising Evidence for Nursing Practice by Denise F. Polit, PhD, FAAN, and Cheryl Tatano Beck, DNSc, CNM, FAAN

Palliative Care and Hospice

  • Cancer Symptom Management by Connie Henke Yarbro, MS, RN, FAAN; Debra Wujcik, PhD, RN, AOCN, FAAN; and Barbara Holmes Gobel, RN, MS, AOCN

Professional Issues

  • Creating and Sustaining Civility in Nursing Education by Cynthia Clark, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN
  • Nurses with Disabilities: Professional Issues and Job Retention by Leslie Neal-Boylan, PhD, APRN-BC, CRRN, FAAN

Thanking our Donors

Starting in the next issue of FAAN Mail, we will regularly recognize supporters of the Rheba de Tornyay Development Fund in the previous month (e.g., the February 15 issue will recognize donors in the month of January). If you would like to be recognized, please donate today!

Follow the Academy

Facebook LogoTwitterLogoLinkedInLogoGooglePlus

Career Opportunities

See opportunities on the Academy site »

Have a career opportunity to share with fellows?

<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Page 13 of 57