FAAN Mail: Academy & Fellow Newsletter

FAAN Mail: Academy & Fellow News is the Academy's e-newsletter. FAAN Mail is sent to all of the Academy's Fellows on the 15th and last day of every month.

If you have anything to share, please see our posting and submission guidelines.

Print Email
August 15, 2014
From the President
Myth Busting
Diana Mason

I’ve served on the Academy board for seven of the last eight years now and am baffled by the persistent misconception that the Academy is lowering its standards for the selection of new fellows. While we each can probably claim to know someone whom we would not have admitted, a member of the Fellow Selection Committee said that this year’s process was the most rigorous she had experienced in three years of service.

Consider these facts about this year’s selection:

  • We had a record number of submissions—278 applications.
  • 170 applicants from 41 states and 5 countries were selected for fellowship.
  • This year’s acceptance rate was 61%—lower than the 70% or higher proportion in recent years.

And this follows a pattern of rigor that has characterized the fellow selection process in recent years. Yet, some fellows have argued that the large numbers of new fellows in the past few years point to a lowering of our standards. I would argue that the profession has been intently focused on increasing the number of well-educated, fine leaders who are changing nursing, the health of the nation, and its health care system. This will only increase if the profession responds as it should to the Institute of Medicine’s recommendations. So why should we be surprised at the increasing number of applicants and new fellows?

If you have any doubts, talk to members of the Fellow Selection Committee, including this year’s fine co-chairs, Linda Scott and Kaye Bender. They will be available during the Open Forum at our October conference and meeting in Washington, DC, to answer any questions you may have about the process.

I hope you’ll join me at our October conference in celebrating the 2014 cadre of new fellows and congratulating them on their superb contributions to nursing and health care.

Diana Mason, PhD, RN, FAAN

Upcoming Conferences
Academy's 2014 Transforming Health, Driving Policy Conference Council's 2014 State of the Science Congress on Nursing Research
October 16–18, 2014
Grand Hyatt Washington
September 18–20, 2014
The Washington Hilton
2014 Leadership Election
VOTING ENDS TODAY for the 2014 Academy Leadership Elections. Current fellows have through tonight to submit their electronic ballot. Honorary fellows and new fellow inductees are not eligible to vote. Review the candidates and vote.
Accepting Nominations for the 2014 Media Award
Facebook LogoTwitterLogoLinkedInLogoGooglePlus
Academy Fellow on Caring for Ebola Patients
Susan GrantSusan M. Grant, MS, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN, published an op-ed in The Washington Post on the importance and care of treating the two Americans infected with the Ebola virus inside the United States.

She notes the precautions to contain the virus, the excellent team of health professionals, and what we can learn to combat this dangerous virus.
Fellow Appointments
Gayle Roux
Gayle Roux, PhD, NP-C, FAAN, has been named dean of the University of North Dakota College of Nursing and Professional Disciplines
Donna Sullivan HavensDonna Sullivan Havens, PhD, RN, FAAN, has been appointed as the interim dean of the School of Nursing at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She has also been appointed as the associate CNO for Academic Affairs for the University of North Carolina Hospitals.
Kathryn LeeKathryn A. Lee, RN, PhD, FAAN, CBSM, received the Association of Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses' 2014 Award of Excellence in Research
Anne P. Manton, PhD, APRN, PMHNP-BC, FAEN, FAAN, has been appointed editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Emergency Nursing.
See who it this week's Fellow in the Spotlight
Career Opportunities
See opportunities on the Academy jobs site.
Advertise your employment opportunities or special announcements in FAAN Mail
Thank You July Supporters!
We'd like to thank everyone who made a gift to the Academy's Rheba de Tornyay Fund during the month of July.
Patricia Allen
Carol Baldwin
Martha Bergren
Kathleen Bower
Lynne Braun
Sarah Burger
Inge Corless
Chandice Covington
Sheila Davis
Jacqueline Fawcett
Regina Fink
M. Louise Fitzpatrick
Nelda Godfrey
J. Taylor Harden
Keela Herr
Judith Hertz
Carole Hudgings
Dorothy Jones
Christine Kovner
Barbara Krainovich-Miller
Janet Larson
Georgia Narsavage
Denise O'Brien
Freida Outlaw
Patricia Patrician
Dori Sullivan
Diana Taylor
Michael Weaver
JoEllen Wilbur
Barbara Wright
Heather Young
Margaret Zalon
Phyllis Zimmer
Donna Zucker
By making a gift of over $1,000 during the campaign year, the following join the President's Circle.
Marion Broome
Julie Fairman
Suzanne Feetham
Catherine Gilliss
Linda Groah
Sally & Jon Lusk
Maria O'Rourke
Margaret Reynolds
Joan Vitello-Cicciu
M. Jean Watson
2014 Transforming Health, Driving Policy Conference

American Academy of Nursing
Washington, DC
news@aannet.org | www.AANnet.org | 202-777-1170

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 2 of 60