2013 Honorary Fellows Print Email
Thursday, August 22, 2013 12:00 AM

American Academy of Nursing Announces 2013 Honorary Fellows

Four Individuals Enrich the Nursing Profession

Carolyn Clancy

Carolyn M. Clancy

Donald & Barbara Jones

Barbara & Donald Jonas

Barbara Safriet
Barbara Safriet

WASHINGTON, DC (August 22, 2013)—The American Academy of Nursing is composed of the most accomplished nursing leaders in education, management, and research. Nevertheless, to improve health care policy and management, the American Academy of Nursing understands that it requires the teamwork of extraordinary individuals outside of the nursing profession.

To honor these extraordinary individuals, who are not eligible for regular fellowship, the Academy designates them as Honorary Fellows.

The Academy is pleased to announce the 2013 class of Honorary Fellows:

  • Carolyn M. Clancy, MD, is the director of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) at the US Department of Health and Human Services. She is a driving force behind the AHRQ campaign to improve the quality, safety, and effectiveness of health care and, in the process, has elevated nursing as a major solution to today’s health care challenges.
  • Barbara and Donald Jonas are founders of the Jonas Center for Nursing Excellence. The Jonases, through their leadership and philanthropy, have enhanced nursing education and improved the quality of mental health services throughout the United States.
  • Barbara J. Safriet, JD, LLM, currently a visiting professor of health law at Lewis & Clark Law School, is a tireless advocate for decades for health care providers practicing to their full scope of practice. Her work strongly supports the contributions of advanced practice nurses and challenges unnecessary barriers that prevent patients from receiving the best health care possible.

The Honorary Fellows will be inducted at a ceremony on Saturday, October 19, 2013, in Washington, DC. The induction ceremony is considered the pinnacle of the American Academy of Nursing’s Annual Transforming Health Care: Driving Policy Conference. For more information on the conference, visit www.AANnet.org.

“The 2013 Honorary Fellows are saluted for their dedication and support to the nursing profession and the essential role nurses play in quality health care,” said Academy president Joanne Disch, PhD, RN, FAAN. “I congratulate the 2013 Honorary Fellows and look forward to honoring them at induction ceremony.”

To become an Honorary Fellow, an individual must be sponsored by three Academy Fellows and demonstrate their extraordinary contributions to nursing and health care. Then, the Academy’s board of directors selects only a few from many applicants to become inducted as an Honorary Fellow each year. An Honorary Fellow enjoys most of the rights and privileges of an Academy Fellow.

# # #

American Academy of NursingAbout the Academy

The American Academy of Nursing (www.AANnet.org) serves the public and the nursing profession by advancing health policy and practice through the generation, synthesis, and dissemination of nursing knowledge. The Academy's more than 2,000 Fellows are nursing's most accomplished leaders in education, management, practice, and research. They have been recognized for their extraordinary contributions to nursing and health care


Michael Marriott
Communications Manager

alt PDF of this Release

Last Updated on Wednesday, September 25, 2013 02:50 PM